Is it just me?

23 Feb

Some days I feel like my “military children” age quicker than civilian children. I know that sounds utterly ridiculous, but don’t they say stress adds years to your life. Not that my 6-year-old, 4-year-old, and 5-month-old are stressed out or behave like teenagers. More on the lines that military life adds so much to our daily life that we seem to lose track of days quicker than civilian families. If that makes sense.

Just the other day we were visiting with friends and my husband had to ask me how old our middle daughter was. I laughed and in turn asked him what years we were stationed in Sicily, Italy. Of course he could spout the dates out immediately, but he couldn’t recall how old our daughter was. This led me to think about how our life is often defined more by our lifestyle than by the actual days that pass. We recall our children’s birthdays, favorite teachers, and big milestones such as walking, talking, and riding a bike not by the year or month it occurred, but instead by the duty station it occurred at.

We look at each duty station as three years of our life. I don’t remember ever thinking about time this way as a non-military child. After we moved to NC from Japan, my son asked me how long we would be here. I had to smile and say we were lucky this time that we would be in the same house for five years.

I love the fact my children are able to flow through a life of constant change and live each day as it comes and goes. However, sometimes I do worry that military children are faced with things in life that require them to grow up in order to handle it all. Then again, aren’t all children faced with something? I remember when my Mom had a stroke. I was an older child, but I was still forced to face what happened and help my family while my Mom recovered. The same applies to children who are often forced to take on responsibilities because their parents are alcoholics, workaholics, or when they are part of a large family. I guess we all face situations, no matter our age. The key is to help our children understand these situations and guide them through with love and support! Thankfully the military offers us various forms of services to help us help each other!

So I guess military life will in some ways result in my children maturing quicker, but is this really a bad thing? I, personally, feel military life has made my children so much stronger. They are much more adaptable to change and our life revolves more around our family than our belongings (especially since we do a purge with each PCS move). Sure it is tough to say “see you later” to Daddy for months at a time, but my children could not be more proud to have a Daddy who protects the freedoms so many Americans take for granted. I am always amazed with how well they put on their “strong face” and take each day as it comes. Rather than ponder on the struggles, we work to find the positives that are always a part of every situation. Sometimes it takes a little more effort to find a positive, but with children you can always find a way to make them smile!

6 Responses to “Is it just me?”

  1. L. J. Roff February 23, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Very well written Kelly. Mom didn’t even prof read it. One thing you didn’t mention was the Grand parents that don’t see the grand kids to often. Anyway we are very prout of both you and Michael.
    Dad

    • Kelly Larson, MBA February 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      Thanks Dad! Your right, sadly our kiddos don’t get to see you guys often enough! 😦 At least we are stateside now. 🙂

  2. L. J. Roff February 23, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Very well written. We of course know that our Grandchildren are special.
    Very proud of all of you.

  3. Jim Larson February 23, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    This is an awesome article Kelly. made me sit an ponder the things you wrote about. I, however, did proofread it. 🙂

    • Kelly Larson, MBA February 24, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks Jim! Glad it made you think. It also made me stop and think while I was writing. :)Did you find any mistakes? 🙂 ha ha

      • Jim Larson February 24, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

        I’ll never tell

Leave a Reply

