I miss my husband, but…

8 Jun

I miss my husband more than words can express. I would give anything to have him sitting next to me right now. However, I accept his job and the life we live. Knowing this, I feel it is my responsibility to live each day teaching and demonstrating to my children how to look at life through a glass half full rather than half empty.

With this said, there are several things I am grateful for because my husband is gone. Yes, there are positives to having a husband deployed.

  • Lower grocery bill
  • Drastically lower gas bill
  • Lower cell phone bill (Most companies will place their phone on hold and save you money)
  • Less laundry
  • Quick easy dinners (Cereal provides plenty of nutrition)
  • Alone time for me to think and reevaluate things
  • Discounts at various on and off base programs and agencies
  • Reminder of just how “independent” I really am (I appreciate this reminder each time he leaves)
  • An opportunity to take a trip to visit family (Sanity break for Mom)
  • Extra time to build and strengthen friendships
  • The extra pay is always great

Life really is all about living each day and being grateful for what you have. Sure it is tough having a deployed husband; however, sitting at home moping over him being gone does nothing! Take advantage of all the little positives and don’t feel guilty for thinking this way. Be proud of what he is doing and take advantage of savings and opportunities.

He is better prepared to do his job if he knows you are happy, healthy, and living life!

9 Responses to “I miss my husband, but…”

  1. heather June 8, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    – No complaints when I channel surf
    – not only good discounts and larger pay check – Great tax refunds!!

    I just sat outside at 9:30pm and had mojitos in the middle of the street with 3 other lonely spouses. I would never do this when my husband is home. I had so much fun…but I still miss him 🙂

    • Kelly Larson, MBA June 9, 2011 at 6:32 am #

      How could I forget the tax refund!!! 🙂 So glad to hear your glass is not only half full, but overflowing with love from friends!

  2. Kelly Larson, MBA June 9, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    ~Facebook Comment~ I couldn’t agree more! Find the positive things and let him know u r ok and he will prolly do better knowing ur ok! Thanks 4 sharing! Oh and let’s not 4get being thankful 4 not listening to the snooze being pushed a million times! 😉

  3. debc June 9, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    – a smaller cable bill because I can cut all his packaged channels that cost extra
    – no snoring at night to keep me up

    But I still miss mine, too.

    • Kelly Larson, MBA June 9, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      Are you able to cut the extra package stuff at no cost? Never thought of that! Thanks for the idea!! No snoring is always nice! ha ha

      • debc June 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

        With Directtv I can, anyway. He has to have every movie channel they offer and when he’s gone, I drop them because I *can’t* watch all those channels and the kids don’t.

        BTW, I see by your Gravatar bio you’ve been to stationed in Sigonella? That was our first command when my husband and i were first married. And we’re in Norfolk now. Can I ask when you were in either place? Is your husband a See Bee or fleet Navy?

  4. Kelly Larson, MBA June 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Debc ~ I will look into this option since we also use Directtv. Something I would love to not be paying for is all my hubby’s sports channels. 🙂

    Yep, we were stationed in Sigonella and LOVED it! We are hoping to get back there after we are done here then retire. Our son was born there and we have always hoped to take him back. We have been stationed at Norfolk twice. We never had any problems living there. Just like any duty station, it is what you make it! My husband is fleet Navy. He is an ET1 (Electronics Technician). We are at a joint command here at Fort Bragg, NC. We LOVE this command. I don’t think I have ever had so much support from a command. Will be hard to leave here and go back to the “normal” Navy. 🙂 What does your hubby do? Hoping to have time tonight after the kiddos are in bed to check out your blog. Thanks for subscribing to mine! Take care!

    • debc June 12, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

      I always said I wanted to go back to Sigonella before he retired, too. It was so beautiful there! Not happening, though, as he has 3 years left in and we’ll spend them here in Norfolk. 17 years flies by faster than you realize sometimes. Yikes! My husband’s father was an ET1 when he retired, too, so I know what is. 🙂 My husband is a CM1 (Construction Mechanic) for the Sea Bees. He’s never been on a ship and never will. Right now, he’s acting support for the Seals at Little Creek and on an 11-month deployment. I keep hoping it will be his last. If he makes Chief, it might be. I could live with that.

      Fort Bragg is pretty close. I have a friend who is moving down there in a week or two.

      • Kelly Larson, MBA June 13, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

        Hopefully you can hop on a mac flight one day and go back for a visit. My husband I hope to use those flights when the kiddos are grown and gone. 🙂 I wish you guys the best of luck with making Chief. We have our fingers crossed too. A 11 month deployment is pretty long for the Navy. Hope you all are doing as well as expected. Does he get to home home for R&R? Any fun plans for that leave? Have you heard of “Operation: Love Reunited?” It is a great program where photographers around the country offer free photo shoots for anyone with a deployed or about to deploy service member. You get two shoots a year. I am in the process of trying to arrange one now. They send a photo album to the service member if it is while he is gone. If they photograph pre-deployment or a homecoming, then you get pictures on a CD. All for FREE! 🙂 I can’t wait to have some pictures of the kiddos and “I.” All my pictures of mainly of the kiddos or the kiddos and Daddy.

        We have driven to Norfolk once already and I know we will make many more trips. We still have lots of friends there. Plus that is always a hub so I’m sure more friends will transfer there. 🙂 We like Fort Bragg. Just like any base, there are good areas and not so good areas. I hope your friend finds some good areas and enjoys her time here. We are outgoing people and there is so much to do outdoors here, so we can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

