I remember when…

13 Jun

I’m sure we all have memories from childhood, but can you think of the ones that really stand out? That something you and your family always did, a smell that instantly makes you think of home, or a place that always reminds you of family and friends. Part of me is a little sad my kiddos aren’t near our “family home” and therefore won’t be raised with many of the same memories my husband and I have from growing up. However, isn’t each family made to make their own memories?

I decided I wanted to try my best to share some of my childhood memories with my children. Growing up my Dad took me to the allergist nearly every week and the only highlight of this trip was our guaranteed stop at Dairy Queen. The yummy dipped cones made the trip worth it! Today, for the first time my kiddos had a dipped cone. They were so excited to have something Mommy had as a kid and I think I was even more excited to see them enjoy this treat as much as I did with my Dad. It was so fun passing my childhood memory into my kiddos’ childhood memories (you know there will be plenty more trips to DQ!).

Another memory I will always have is the smell of the body powder my Mom would put on us after our bath. This wasn’t an every bath occasion, but instead a special treat. Any sane Mom would not want to deal with the mess of two girls and a container of powder with every bath! I think it is amazing how I just have to take one whiff of the powder and memories come pouring back. During my last trip home I asked my Mom for the glass powder bowl and the leftover powder. I will cherish this bowl more than almost anything I have. Most people would think I was crazy, but I think we all have that special something that seems to always put a smile on our face. I had a smile from ear to ear the first night I shared this special memory with my children. Of course I learned just how big of a mess the powder makes, but that was quickly lost with the giggles and smiles I shared with my kiddos. Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed sharing this memory and creating something similar with my own kiddos.

Something fun my husband and I have created with our children is our family pizza night. This is not something I had growing up, but it is something I hope will remain as a fun memory for my kiddos. My kiddos help me make our pizza, then we all huddle around the coffee table and watch a movie while eating till our tummies bulge. This is such a simple and often overlooked event, but it is an event that never loses its excitement or joy.

Isn’t that what a memory is, something we hold on to because it touched us in one way or another? As military families we are faced with creating memories that teach, comfort, and remind our children what family is. To help them understand that no matter how far away Daddy is, we will ALWAYS remain a family! I love watching my children do something a certain way then say “Daddy does it this way” or better yet tell me “No Mommy, that isn’t the way Daddy does it.” Memories are treasures and I can’t wait to share more of our childhood memories while creating our own unique family memories!

4 Responses to “I remember when…”

  1. Kelly Larson, MBA June 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    ~Facebook Comment~ I loved your article, it made me start to remember some of the things I remember from a girl. The POWDER!!! oh my, my Mom to this day still uses her bath powder. As a young girl I use to sneak (or so I thought) into using it, but what a mes…s I left in the bathroom… LOL … I think I might just go buy some of her kind just to keep the memory. Thank you Kelly. I wish I could find some of my old perfume from high school as just the thought reminds me of some very special times.

    • L. J. Roff June 13, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Makes me sad that there will be no more daughters to powder. But it weill be fun with the grandkids.

      Very good article. So proud of you.

      Love Mom

      • Kelly Larson, MBA June 14, 2011 at 9:52 am #

        Thank you! Grandkids are more fun because you can make the mess then send them home! 🙂 ha ha

  2. Kelly Larson, MBA June 14, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    ~Facebook Comment ~ We use to have a homemade pizza every Saturday night and watch a movie…it was something we all looked forward to and would even not go out with friends b/c we knew it was coming!!

Leave a Reply

