No Place Like Home

7 Aug

We do our best to make a trip home in between each PCS and for any big events. This summer my hubby has been deployed, so I decided to venture home. The traveling went well and the trip was wonderful. However, there are always challenges to visiting back home.

My children were able to spend quality time with family they knew and others they didn’t remember. I did my best to help them learn names of family members they couldn’t remember, but honestly would know if we were a normal civilian family living near our hometown. Some of those family members were wonderful and rolled with the name mix ups or the look of “I don’t know who you are”, while others just can’t come to terms with our way of life and the challenges that come with it. I do my best to laugh off the “You remember me” or the “Come on, you know me.” While silently thinking “Why should they? How often do they see you and how often do you take that extra step to maintain a long distance relationship with a child?” Of course it takes two to tango and we all play a part in maintaining a family that involves the military. So this leads to my smiling and nodding while distracting the children so they don’t hear the comments.

It is wonderful to see everyone and take my 1600 pictures (yes I did). However, the constant going always wears us down. By the end of our stay I could feel it and see it in all of us, we wanted to be home. It is hard because you don’t want to show that you are ready to go, but at the same time you know everyone understands how you feel.

I always leave without seeing someone, not spending enough time with someone, or another someone finds out we were back home but didn’t see them. I hate feeling like I need to apologize or smooth over the lack of a visitation. I can’t help but want to say, “you can come visit me.”

Of course you can’t forget family drama. Every family has it and if you say you don’t, then you likely don’t have a very honest family. Drama is a part of life and it is everywhere! I just hate it when I go home and have to deal with it. It always reminds me of why I love living far enough away to visit rather than deal with it on a daily basis.

I don’t want to seem like our trips home are nightmares, because they are anything but that. This summer we had a wonderful time home and I’m thankful for all the wonderful memories and the much needed change of scenery. I’m pretty sure most military families face similar struggles with trips home. Visiting home can often be such a double edge sword. You want to visit and see everyone, but you know your going to face the same challenges you faced your last trip home.

Either way, we hold our shoulders strong and deal with the ugly in order to enjoy the beautiful.

What challenges do you face each visit home? What do you do to manage the issues? Please share your tips and ways!

One Response to “No Place Like Home”

  1. Kelly Larson, MBA August 8, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    ~Facebook Comment~ Great job Kelly!!! That is so true about visiting home!!!

Leave a Reply

