Anything for Only Three Years

6 Dec

Before each of my boot camp exercise sessions I always tell myself “you can do anything for only 45 minutes.”  This morning I got to thinking and wondered if we subconsciously tell ourselves something similar about our duty stations?

Only 1 year, 5 months, and 6 days till we PCS…

Only 6 months till we pick orders…

Only 3 months till “so and so” leaves…

I honestly haven’t disliked any of our duty stations for the location. Sure just about any base will have its “bad” areas, but a location is all in what you make of it. I try my best to research an area and make an ongoing list of all the things we want to do. This helps me concentrate more on the aspects we like and look forward to rather than the aspects we dislike. Of course some duty stations make this a whole lot easier than others. However, facebook and other online resources are great for offering various groups of people who can offer activity ideas based on their time living there.

Now, even with all the positive thinking you can maintain, we have all had leadership we wish we could trade out or coworkers who make our life much more challenging than necessary (I say we because we all know his job directly impacts our life too). I don’t think we have had a duty station yet where we weren’t at some point counting down days due to people he worked with.

Counting down seems like such an automatic reaction when we are so used to moving often and working with people for short periods of time. I laughed a little when I realized this way of thinking sounded so similar to my motivation technique for getting through my exercise sessions. Right? It works! When you can create the light at the end of the tunnel, then the distance doesn’t seem nearly as far. Now I’m not saying a count down for 672 days is healthy for everyone. However, it is healthy to remember nothing will last forever.

Do you have a quote to get you through a tough situation?

One Response to “Anything for Only Three Years”

  1. L. J. Roff December 6, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Well done again Kelly. You make your Mother and me proud of both you and Michael.

Leave a Reply

