Well Deserved

12 Dec

Christmas lights can be seen throughout the neighborhood and so many front windows are glowing with beautiful Christmas trees. I know the holiday season is here, but I don’t know for sure if I know this because of all the decorations or from the dark circles under my eyes. I have asked myself, is December supposed to be like this or could we all use a dose of well deserved grace?

I was just talking to a friend last night about how I’m not feeling “bah humbug,” but I’m also not feeling jolly and full of Christmas cheer. Once I started talking and trying to explain how I felt (not wanting to be the Grinch), I began to realize just what I was feeling. Exhausted and blah from the constant yank and pull of holiday events and must do lists. I feel like the donkey who gets so close, but just can’t seem to grab the carrot.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for the opportunities my family is given this time of year (far too many children and families are not so lucky). However, each family and person has their limit of what they can handle while maintaining the cheer and joy this time of year should bring.

This morning I sat down and asked myself “what type of holiday season do I want?”

  • One where I fulfill all requests, attend every party and event, complete each holiday tradition, and don’t forget cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc. all the while counting down the days with a sense of duty (ensuring I fit everything in) and relief (somehow I grew another set of hands and cloned myself in my own lab).
Or
  • One full of giggling kiddos making cookies (passed on the holiday dinner out), evenings full of Christmas stories and movies (crossed off making cards and will instead hope to send out store bought cards or maybe even curl up on the couch with my hubby and tell myself my family and friends won’t mind if I make it up to them next year), and slowing down to wrap a couple presents each day so I can stop and watch my children smile and take pride in each present they wrap and sign (adding so much more excitement and joy to each day rather than a whirlwind night spent wrapping everything).

To me life isn’t about what you accomplished, but instead what you enjoyed while you lived and the memories you cherish. I won’t remember all the events we did or all the items I crossed off my to do list 6 months from now, let alone years from now when my children are grown and gone. However, I will remember the fun nights we spent reading Christmas stories, the car rides spent looking at Christmas lights, and the time spent looking at our Christmas tree talking about what December 25th means to us.

We will find the time to attend some parties and I can’t wait to take the kiddos on a Christmas hayride, but I won’t feel guilty saying no or skipping a traditional event here and there. I am giving myself some well deserved grace by accepting I can’t and don’t really want to do it all!

I believe the sign below will be a very touching and meaningful addition to my home!

We all deserve this, but many of us need to be reminded!

4 Responses to “Well Deserved”

  1. Jim December 12, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Amen

  2. Deborah Larson December 12, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Your articles are do awesome. This one brought tears to my eyes. You are a wonderful and very special daughter in law. Love you.

  3. Kelly Larson December 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    ~Facebook Comment~ Very well written and a great reminder for all of us!

  4. Kelly Larson December 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    ~Facebook Comment~ After reading this, it gave me a new prespective on the holiday season! I also have been feeling overwhelmed with how much needs to be done! I’m thinking about cancelling some things so we can just enjoy the hoildays as a family!!!

Leave a Reply

