30 Ways to Have a Better New Year

28 Dec

A friend shared a list of “30 Things to Stop Doing to Yourself” by Marc and Angel Hack Life on Facebook and I couldn’t wait to share it. I do not know how anyone could read the list and not pick out several that apply to them (maybe more than several). We often make New Year’s resolutions that create unobtainable hopes or that may be obtainable, but do not truly change our lives for the better. So why not make a resolution this year that is about Ourselves!

I read through the list and chose several that made me nod my head immediately. I want to create a New Year that helps me be the me I want to be!

  • Stop thinking your not ready. Nobody ever feels 100% ready when an opportunity arises.  Because most great opportunities in life force us to grow beyond our comfort zones, which means we won’t feel totally comfortable at first. (I have started working on this with my running, but I want to apply this to more of my life)
  • Stop trying to compete against everyone else. Don’t worry about what others doing better than you.  Concentrate on beating your own records every day.  Success is a battle between YOU and YOURSELF only. (I need to set personal goals and use this as motivation, not what others are doing)
  • Stop overlooking the beauty of small moments. Enjoy the little things, because one day you may look back and discover they were the big things.  The best portion of your life will be the small, nameless moments you spend smiling with someone who matters to you. (Life gets busy, but I need to find the time to enjoy the little things more often)
  • Stop trying to be everything to everyone. Doing so is impossible, and trying will only burn you out.  But making one person smile CAN change the world.  Maybe not the whole world, but their world.  So narrow your focus. (This really applies to my children. I’m only one person!)

I’m going to print these out and paste them in the main areas of my home (computer screen, kitchen, treadmill, and my bathroom mirror). If I’m going to change, then I need to be reminded of how I want to change and why. We are in control of who we want to be, so stop wishing for what you could be and find a way to create the “you” you want to be!

Check out the whole list of 30 things to stop doing to yourself. It is a great list that will make you stop and think! Be bold and follow number three “Stop lying to yourself.” We all have things to change!

http://www.marcandangel.com/2011/12/11/30-things-to-stop-doing-to-yourself/

Leave a Reply

